St. Michael High School Celebrates Fall Honors Convocation

Yesterday, students and faculty gathered to celebrate the efforts and hard work of our student body by recognizing those who have excelled in the areas of service and academics. These students have dedicated themselves to their studies, and through diligence and hard work, have achieved a particular goal or reached a designated standard.

Congratulations to the following students for their various awards!

Advanced Placement Scholar: Jenny Nguyen
The College Board’s AP Program recognizes high school students who have demonstrated outstanding college-level achievement through their performance on AP exams. An AP Scholar is a student who has achieved a score of 3 or higher on 3 or more AP exams. This distinction is one that is typically only obtained by graduating seniors. However, Jenny achieved this status at the end of her junior year.

The Woodmen of the World Award: Nicholas Matherne
This award represents outstanding proficiency in American History.

Tulane University Award recipient: Kaitlyn Landry
In receiving this award, Kaitlyn is recognized for excellence in academics, leadership and public service along with embodying the motto of Tulane University “Not for one’s self, but for one’s own.”

Scholarship Award Recipients:
Robert A. Bogan Award: Joshua Breaux
Greater Baton Rouge State Fair Scholarship: Caitlin Brumfield
Kay Rabalais Scholarship: Kennedy Seelbach
Leadership Scholarship: Jena Vavasseur

Perfect attendance (students have not checked out of school, nor been tardy or absent for the past academic year):
Anne-Marie Cobb
Madison Comeaux
Brian Buu Dang
Zack Frederic
Nathan Hoang
Timothy Levron
Adriene Louviere
Megan Marcello
Nicholas Matherne
Tanner Pike
Kennedy Seelbach
Thomas Smith
Max Stewart
Kathy Vu
Hannah Vu
Bliss Woolbright

Literary Rally Award Winners:
Elizabeth Angel – placed 1st in English II
Brigette Benigno – placed 3rd in Spanish I
Ryan Collins – placed 1st in English III
Anna Crifasi– Placed in Advanced Math – Pre Calculus
Caroline Johnson – Placed 2nd in Family and Consumer Science
Luke LaFleur – Placed 2nd in Biology II
Abigail McCurry – placed 1st in French I
Joseph Miller – Placed 1st in World History
Elena Monette – placed in English I
Steven Reed – placed in Physical Science
Kennedy Seelbach – placed 2nd in French III
Mark Thomas – placed 2nd in Biology I

State Literary Rally Winners (advanced past District Rally and went to LSU to compete):
Brian Dang placed 1st in Latin I
Caroline Johnson placed 1st in Family & Consumer Sciences
Abigail McCurry placed 3rd in French I
Steven Reed placed 3rd in Physical Science

First Honors recipients (students who have maintained a 3.5 unweighted GPA for both semesters of the 2017-18 school year):
Peyton Anderson
Charlotte Balart
Hector Barraza
Mitchell Bellan
Brigette Benigno
Joshua Breaux
Caitlin Brumfield
Brandon Bull
Claire Cazedessus
William Clark, III
Jake Cobb
Jacob Coleman
Clara Collins
Brian-Buu Dang
Addison Dimmick
Charles Dowling, III
Kathryn Ensminger
Alexandria Ferguson
Anna Flauss
Bethany Flauss
Kayla Ford
Kyla Fox
Leah Gil
Emily Gonzalez
Maria Gordon
Madelyne Gresko
Kinley Hagmann
Hannah Hoffer
Grayson Howell
Caroline Johnson
Casse Johnson
George Kim
Kaitlyn LaCava
Avery Landry
Lindyn Landry
Andrew Le
Hanna LeBlanc
Adriene Louviere
Megan Marcello
Taylor Marcello
Emily Martin
Abigail McCurry
Skylar McLaughlin
Hannah Metz
Douglas Ngo
Dylan Ngo
Jenny Nguyen
Ariana Patton
Emma Phillips
Tanner Pike
Valentina Pinero Mendoza
Rebecca Quebedeaux
Aidan Roberts
Kennedy Seelbach
Christopher Sehring
Isabella Spano
Mark Thomas, Jr.
Camille Toups
Marc Tullier
Ruth Vanhaverbeke
Katherine Varnado
Laney Varnado
Jena Vavasseur
Halle Vu
Hannah Vu
Riley Waguespack

Principal’s Honors award (maintaining a 4.0 unweighted GPA for both semesters of the 2017-2018 school year):
Elizabeth Angel
Leah Bourg
Jeffrey Brignac
Anna Crifasi
Kinsey Davis
Morgyn Gauthier
Donovan Gegg
Rachel Guarisco
Sarah Levron
Emalie Manuel
Sarah Martin
Nicholas Matherne
Lauren McKinney
Henry Perrien
Beau Saucier
Timothy Seiler, Jr.
Thomas Smith
Judy Vu

We also welcome the following students into the National Honor Society:
Elizabeth Angel
Mitchell Bellan
Jeffery Brignac
Caitlin Brumfield
Abby Button
Jacob Coleman
Kayla Ford
Rachel Gaurisco
Isabella Haydu
Thomas Hoang
Kaitlyn LaCava
Andrew Le
Jacob McCann
Samantha McClendon
Anna Neupert
Douglas Ngo
Dylan Ngo
Andy Nguyen
Jenny Nguyen
Ariana Patton
Kaleb Perkins
Jared Romero
Thomas Smith
Caleb Stewart
Alex Theriot
Mark Thomas
Marc Tullier
Ruth Vanhaverbeke
Luke Wilson